“Delicious Breath of Air”

September 18, 2008 at 3:45 am 1 comment

I have no idea why this is the title, but I’m bored and the air conditioning is going so that sounded like a good name to me. Why not? A little thing like a gust of wind can be insignifigant but provide coolness in the summer. It’s not very noticeable when it is around, but if it is taken away then people pay attention.

This is true in any kinds of fields in life. For instance, in my high school, for the last two years, I’ve been given parts in the background for the musical. It feels as if I am unimportant and don’t play a huge part in the scheme of things. As I am “unusable” or something or “not good enough” to be a bigger role. I mean I try hearder, but sometimes people unfortunantly take no notice of a person. It’s their loss or so I’ve been told many times.

I do enjoy doing summer musicals outside my high school because I get to work with people I don’t usually see and I develop many friends in this way. Also, the director is very good and I like his techniques when running rehearsals for a show.

Summer of 2007 – Deborah Sue Miller in Bye Bye Birdie

Yes, I’m wearing a poodle skirt since it was set in the 1950’s. I found this picture while going through old files and thought maybe it would fit in with my entry.

Well. I have all A’s at this point still and plan to work hard and show others my hidden talents. I want to be more noticed instead of cast aside all the time.

Entry filed under: Musicals, Random ranting, School.

Battle for English Performing At a Price

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hitomi  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Okay, so Purply-san, I have a little bit of insight into your problem.

    I know you feel like you’re being under-utilized and what not, but you can’t let it get personal. There are no small parts, only small actors. It is YOUR job to take that small part you’ve been given and make people REMEMBER only YOU, even though you had a small chorus part.

    I know a lot about this. I’ve been acting and what not since grade 3, and I am now in grade 12. You have to work your way up. In grade 9, we put on Roger Hammersteins Cinderella, and BOY did I want that part SO badly, it wasn’t funny. I gave the best audition of my life, and I got stuck with a chorus part. Giving a grade 9 a lead role, even if she had more talent than a grade 12 is a bit rude and a slap in the face to the grade 12’s who have put in their time and waited for their turn to shine. That’s just the way it works. So don’t be hurt by it!

    You’ll get your chance, I know it! Just don’t give it up, or you’ll regret it. Trust me.

    Hitomi

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

